Today was a little bit rough, actually.  I have been struggling with the whole how bad do I want to do this whole writing thing.  Lamott wrote a glorious book, but I am not Lamott writer right now.  Again and again the chimes went off in my mind of I get this and I get this…but it was also intimidating.  I have never even written fiction!  I was intimidated and worried that I hadn’t done enough to prepare myself.  I was tired, and I got lost on campus AGAIN!  
As usual, I am initially resistant to every writing topic.  But be positive!  Be open-minded!  I didn’t want to write about bullying and it just makes me sad to think about my own girls someday getting bullied, but I ended up finding a few good possible starts during the sacred writing time.  I really like the writer’s notebook and am eager to work with this and think about how I can use it in my classroom.  
I loved the activity with the Venn diagram and the Writing Next piece.  I need to look more into this and give it to my administrators…and think more about how a writing curriculum could work within that framework.  
Finally, when brainstorming topics for the This I Believe piece, I came to a great one and I am very excited about writing more on it.  I definitely plan on doing more with that piece.  Besides being fueled to write about the topic I’ve chosen, I am eager to do this with my students next fall.

From the Writing Next I want to know more about creating collaborative writing groups in my classroom so that students are better at revising their writing and giving constructive feedback.  Summarization, inquiry activities for writing also.




Leave a Reply.