At first, I wasn’t really inspired to write much about the whole hair topic.  But then I remembered a particular hair catastrophe that my mom saved me from back in high school, and I was on a roll.  I did love the use of the children's book as model text, though.  I should have brought up the sensitivity around the issue of hair that African American students feel. 

I love the idea of using digital voice recorders in the classroom!  This is definitely on my to-do list.  I can already see what a valuable tool these will be for my students for revision.  I also think I want to try recording myself assessing their writing.  I actually think it might be kind of fun.  I am eager to review podcasting tools and techniques since it has been several years since I have done anything with it…and I really want to use this for the final draft of at least one of my students’ projects.

In our discussion of Bird by Bird, I realized that I wanted to bring the teacher back into my reflection that I had written. 

Finally, the webinar was helpful.  The best thing I got out of it was the wiki for the book.  I am definitely going to read the book while using the wiki to look at the tools he recommends.




Leave a Reply.